Wheeler Farm Portrait Sessions with Derika and Mikael!

In the drive to always become better, I try to focus on various aspects of my photography. This time around it was posing.

First getting into the business of shooting people (I love being able to say that phrase), I was like “No way will I do any of that lame studio posing from 90s. No way, no how. I’m fresh and modern dang it! I want candids and that’s what people really want anyway.”

Right?

Welllll… Not exactly.

As I have grown and become more experienced, I’ve come to the conclusion that posing is not a bad thing. I’ll say it again, because it a realization that came very gradually, and it was such a turning point for me.  Posing is not a bad thing.

Here’s why:

  1. Think of the pictures your friends take of you while you’re being candid. Half-closed eyes, crooked smiles, sometimes (or often times) very unflattering angles. Some of these may even by why you hate having your picture taken (that’s me, anyway. Oh the irony.) It’s just what happens. Certain angles make anyone look terrible, that’s just how it is.
  2. Having a camera in your face for two hours straight is awkward. Especially when someone says “Just act natural.” Uhhh. Okay. Act naturally in front of a graffiti wall with no clue of what acting naturally is in such a situation. Right.
  3. Our body language speaks volumes. And if you’re not sure what to do with yourself in the photo, it shows. Posing, along with trust of your photographer, gives both your mind and body something to focus on to push the awkwardness away.
  4. Posing doesn’t have to be the hands on your chin, wrapped in a boa, glamour shot of the 90s. Posing can help show off your best assets and minimize or hide what you’re self-conscious about. While still making you look like it’s the most natural thing in the world (or close enough to it). For me, my chin has always been prone to doubleness, even though I didn’t have one, some pictures made me look like it. Now that I know how to pose to make that go away, or at least make it not as obvious, I’m ecstatic.

Tada! There you have it. Posing, done correctly, can be amazing!

Anywho, on to this shoot with Mikael and Derika, who were kind enough to let me practice various posing ideas with them Smile. I usually know how to give directions, but this time around I really wanted to focus on conveying that expression so common in fashion. I wanted Derika and Mikael to know a secret, a secret they were just happening to let you in on.

Wheeler Farm, Salt Lake Portrait Photographer, Posing, Epic PhotographyWheeler Farm, Salt Lake Portrait Photographer, Posing, Epic PhotographyWheeler Farm, Salt Lake Portrait Photographer, Posing, Epic PhotographyWheeler Farm, Salt Lake Portrait Photographer, Posing, Epic PhotographyWheeler Farm, Salt Lake Portrait Photographer, Posing, Epic PhotographyWheeler Farm, Salt Lake Portrait Photographer, Posing, Epic PhotographyWheeler Farm, Salt Lake Portrait Photographer, Posing, Epic PhotographyWheeler Farm, Salt Lake Portrait Photographer, Posing, Epic PhotographyWheeler Farm, Salt Lake Portrait Photographer, Posing, Epic PhotographyWheeler Farm, Salt Lake Portrait Photographer, Posing, Epic PhotographyWheeler Farm, Salt Lake Portrait Photographer, Posing, Epic PhotographyWheeler Farm, Salt Lake Portrait Photographer, Posing, Epic PhotographyWheeler Farm, Salt Lake Portrait Photographer, Posing, Epic PhotographyWheeler Farm, Salt Lake Portrait Photographer, Posing, Epic PhotographyWheeler Farm, Salt Lake Portrait Photographer, Posing, Epic PhotographyWheeler Farm, Salt Lake Portrait Photographer, Posing, Epic Photography

Leave a Reply

