Love Yourself and the Camera Will Too

Women, and actually people in general, struggle with self-image. I know I do. Which is one reason I love what I do. I love making people feel amazing and gorgeous through the images I take.

Can I tell you something? I may not know you personally, but I love you and find you beautiful. Sound too cliche? Maybe. But I know that I’ve never had a client that I haven’t loved. Each child, couple, woman, teen, etc, they’ve shared so much with me. Their joys, their insecurities, their lives. And I’ve found every single one beautiful. Just sometimes it takes some extra work to make them see what I see.

I am overweight. I am. I was in denial for the longest time about it, but I accept it now and am happily working towards a healthier me. But I couldn’t do that til I loved myself, tummy and all, which is so difficult when all you can see is what is wrong with you. But let’s not focus on what we think, let’s focus on something positive about ourselves each day. I am not the number on the scale. I am a photographer, a daughter, a sister, a wife, and a friend. I am an absolute goofball with a slightly inappropriate sense of humor (that’s what she said), who loves making people laugh. My faults are no reason not to love who I am. As soon as I realized that, and as soon as I see other people realize that, they instantly look more beautiful. More importantly, they look happier. And, that shows, whether it’s in a photo or the mirror.

So, I’ll say it again. Love who you are today. There is so much to love.

One thought on “Love Yourself and the Camera Will Too

Leave a Reply

